Share/print this page: Share Print page


The Policy Navigator Library has been designed to provide users with additional information to supplement material discussed in the six timelines. The library includes a list of legislation, organisations and publications. The library does not contain information on every Act or publication mentioned in the timeline, and you may find it easier to view the timelines first before accessing content in this section. 
Filter by type:

Applied filters

Clear filters

Commission for Healthcare Improvement (CHI)

The Commission for Healthcare Improvement (CHI) was established by the Health Act 1999 as an independent non-departmental public body.

Commission for Patient and Public Involvement in Health (CPPIH)

The Commission for Patient and Public Involvement in Health (CPPIH) was established in 2003 with the objective of implementing and overseeing patient and public involvement in health. The NHS Reform

Commission for Social Care Inspection

The Commission for Social Care Inspection (CSCI) was a non-departmental public body of the Department of Health, established in 2004.

Central Midwives Board

The Central Midwives Board was established by the Midwives Act 1902.

Clinical commissioning groups (CCGs)

Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs) are local, clinically led NHS organisations established by the Health and Social Care Act 2012.

Clinical senates

Clinical senates were established in April 2013 to provide strategic advice to clinical commissioning groups (CCGs), health and wellbeing boards and NHS England on commissioning and decision making on