Share/print this page: Share Print page


The Policy Navigator Library has been designed to provide users with additional information to supplement material discussed in the six timelines. The library includes a list of legislation, organisations and publications. The library does not contain information on every Act or publication mentioned in the timeline, and you may find it easier to view the timelines first before accessing content in this section. 

NHS foundation trust

The Health and Social Care (Community Health and Standards) Act 2003 provided for the establishment of NHS foundation trusts (a new form of NHS organisation with greater freedoms) and a new independen

National Assistance Board

The National Assistance Act 1948 established the National Assistance Board, which was responsible for providing ‘public assistance’.

NHS Future Forum

The NHS Future Forum was set up by the government on 6 April 2011 to conduct a listening exercise during the pause in the passage of the health and social care bill.

National Audit Office

The National Audit Office (NAO) scrutinises all public spending (except for local government spending) and reports to Parliament.

National Care Standards Commission

Following a recommendation made by the Royal Commission on Long Term Care in 1999, the National Care Standards Commission (NCSC) was established by the Care Standards Act 2000.

National Clinical Assessment Authority

The National Clinical Assessment Authority began operating in April 2001 as a special health authority. Its initial purpose was to help NHS trusts to identify issues with doctors.