Share/print this page: Share Print page


The Policy Navigator Library has been designed to provide users with additional information to supplement material discussed in the six timelines. The library includes a list of legislation, organisations and publications. The library does not contain information on every Act or publication mentioned in the timeline, and you may find it easier to view the timelines first before accessing content in this section. 

NHS Trust Development Authority (NHS TDA)

The NHS Trust Development Authority (NHS TDA) was established as a special health authority on 1 June 2012 by the National Health Service Trust Development Authority (establishment and constitution) o

Nursing and Midwifery Council

The Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC) is the professional regulator for all nurses and midwives in the UK.

Obstetrical Society of London

Founded in 1858, the London Obstetrical Society dealt with obstetrics and gynaecology.

Office of Fair Trading (OFT)

The Office of Fair Trading (OFT) was first established under the Fair Trading Act 1973 to promote and protect consumer interests by ensuring markets and businesses operated fairly.

Office for Standards in Education and Children’s Services and Skills (OFSTED)

The Office for Standards in Education, Children’s Services and Skills (Ofsted) is an independent organisation that reports directly to Parliament.

Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman (PHSO)

The Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman is a post that was first established as the Parliamentary Ombudsman (by the 1967 Parliamentary Commissioner Act) to investigate the actions of any govern