Share/print this page: Share Print page


The Policy Navigator Library has been designed to provide users with additional information to supplement material discussed in the six timelines. The library includes a list of legislation, organisations and publications. The library does not contain information on every Act or publication mentioned in the timeline, and you may find it easier to view the timelines first before accessing content in this section. 

Nursing and Midwifery Council

The Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC) is the professional regulator for all nurses and midwives in the UK.

Obstetrical Society of London

Founded in 1858, the London Obstetrical Society dealt with obstetrics and gynaecology.

Office of Fair Trading (OFT)

The Office of Fair Trading (OFT) was first established under the Fair Trading Act 1973 to promote and protect consumer interests by ensuring markets and businesses operated fairly.

Public Health Observatories

Public health observatories (PHOs) were based in each region of England and the UK more widely and monitored population health trends and provided intelligence and advice to practitioners and policy m

The Privy Council

The Privy council was a council of advisers to the sovereign, primarily comprised of senior members of the House of Commons or Lords.

Regional Health Authorities

The NHS Reorganisation Act 1973 abolished regional hospital boards and hospital management committees and replaced them with regional health authorities (RHAs) and area health authorities (AHAs) which