Share/print this page: Share Print page


The Policy Navigator Library has been designed to provide users with additional information to supplement material discussed in the six timelines. The library includes a list of legislation, organisations and publications. The library does not contain information on every Act or publication mentioned in the timeline, and you may find it easier to view the timelines first before accessing content in this section. 
Filter by type:

Applied filters

Clear filters

Co-operation and Competition Panel

The Co-operation and Competition Panel (CCP) was established in 2009 to investigate potential breaches of the Principles and Rules of Co-operation and Competition (PRCC).  Additionally, the CCP m

Commissioning support units

In 2013, 19 commissioning support units (CSUs) were set up to provide commissioning support services to commissioners in clinical commissioning groups (CCGs), acute trusts, local government and NHS En

Department of Social Securities

The Department of Social Securities was the ministerial department of the UK government responsible for the administration of the social security benefits.

District health authorities

The Health Services Act 1980 enabled the Secretary of State for Social Services to establish district health authorities (DHAs) and specified that regional areas did not need to be based around area h

District management team (area health authority)

The NHS Reorganisation Act 1973 created area health authorities (AHAs). The 90 AHAs were responsible for the planning and delivery of healthcare services.

Executive councils

The National Health Service Act 1946 established executive councils which were responsible for administering general medical services such as general practitioner, dental and pharmaceutical services.&