Share/print this page: Share Print page


The Policy Navigator Library has been designed to provide users with additional information to supplement material discussed in the six timelines. The library includes a list of legislation, organisations and publications. The library does not contain information on every Act or publication mentioned in the timeline, and you may find it easier to view the timelines first before accessing content in this section. 
Filter by type:

Applied filters

Clear filters

Court of Appeal

The Court of Appeal, established in 1875, is the second most senior court in the English legal system, with only the Supreme Court of the United Kingdom superseding it.

Food Standards Agency

The Food Standards Agency (FSA) was established on 1 April 2000 by the Food Standards Act 1999 and followed the publication of the white paper The Food Standards Agency: a force for change.

Department for Work and Pensions (DWP)

The Department for Work and Pensions is the ministerial department of the UK government concerned with employment policy and the provision of social security and pensions.

Health authorities (1995)

Health authorities were established by the Health Authorities Act 1995, and were responsible for the planning and administration of health services for their population.

General Chiropractic Council

The General Chiropractic Council is an independent statutory body established by Parliament in 1994.

Health Development Agency

The Health Development Agency was set up in 2000 as a special health authority to develop an evidence base for improving health and reducing health inequalities.