Share/print this page: Share Print page


The Policy Navigator Library has been designed to provide users with additional information to supplement material discussed in the six timelines. The library includes a list of legislation, organisations and publications. The library does not contain information on every Act or publication mentioned in the timeline, and you may find it easier to view the timelines first before accessing content in this section. 
Filter by type:

Applied filters

Clear filters

Area teams or local area teams (NHS England)

Area teams, previously known as local area teams, are regional offices of NHS England. There are 27 throughout England.

Area health authorities (AHAs) and Area Authorities

The NHS Reorganisation Act 1973 created a tier of 90 area health authorities (AHAs), which were responsible for the planning and delivery of healthcare services.

Association of Directors of Adult Social Services (ADASS)

The Association of Directors of Adult Social Services (ADASS) is a charity and representative body for all directors of adult social services in England.

Audit Commission

The Audit Commission was set up in 1983 as a public corporation. It oversaw the auditing of councils, NHS bodies from 1990 and other local public services in England.

Boards of Governors

Boards of Governors were established by the National Health Service Act 1946 and were responsible for the management of teaching hospitals.

Boards of Guardians

Boards of Guardians were organisations established by the Poor Law Amendment Act 1834.