Share/print this page: Share Print page


The Policy Navigator Library has been designed to provide users with additional information to supplement material discussed in the six timelines. The library includes a list of legislation, organisations and publications. The library does not contain information on every Act or publication mentioned in the timeline, and you may find it easier to view the timelines first before accessing content in this section. 
Filter by type:

Applied filters

Clear filters

Council for Healthcare Regulatory Excellence (CHRE) and Council for the Regulation of Health Care Professionals

The Council for Healthcare Regulatory Excellence (CHRE) was a health regulatory body set up under the National Health Service Reform and Health Care Professions Act 2002.

Family practitioner committees

Family practitioner committees (FPCs) were established in 1973 under the NHS Reorganisation Act and were involved in the planning and delivery of primary care services.

Court of Appeal

The Court of Appeal, established in 1875, is the second most senior court in the English legal system, with only the Supreme Court of the United Kingdom superseding it.

Food Standards Agency

The Food Standards Agency (FSA) was established on 1 April 2000 by the Food Standards Act 1999 and followed the publication of the white paper The Food Standards Agency: a force for change.

Department for Work and Pensions (DWP)

The Department for Work and Pensions is the ministerial department of the UK government concerned with employment policy and the provision of social security and pensions.

Department of Health

The Ministry of Health Act 1919 established the Ministry of Health despite resistance from members of the Local Government Board at the time, who feared the break-up of the Poor Law administration if