Health Authorities Act 1995

The Health Authorities Act 1995 received royal assent on 28 June 1995 and led to further reorganisation of the NHS administrative structure.

The Act abolished regional health authorities (RHAs), district health authorities (DHAs) and family health services authorities (FHSAs). The RHAs were replaced by regional NHS executive offices, which were part of the Department of Health.

The functions of DHAs and FHSAs were effectively merged and replaced by new health authorities, which became responsible for the planning and administration of health services for their population. 

Later, health authorities were themselves reorganised in 2002, with their boundaries changing to form 28 strategic health authorities (SHAs) following the National Health Service Reform and Health Care Professionals Act 2002.


House of Commons.
Health Authorities Act 1995.; 1995.

House of Commons.
National Health Service Reform and Health Care Professions Act 2002.; 2002.